Summer with The Leopard

The next Stoke Stanza session at The Leopard pub, Burslem is on Tuesday 14th July at 7.30pm. All welcome, admission free.

Summer’s here and the time is right for rhyming in the street … and at festivals and anywhere else …

Leopard regular, Phil Williams recently read alongside Gillian Clarke, National Poet of Wales, Jonathan Edwards the splendid Costa Prize winning poet from Cross Keys and his twin brother, Mark at the Llantarnam Poetry Festival.

See if you can spot the difference …

Another picture of a poetry reading

Or that?

picture of poetry reading

This one?

Llantarnam Poetry Festival

Dave Daggers’s splendid photo of Llantarnam church

About theleopard66

I am a member of the Stoke Stanza of The Poetry Society and run a bi-monthly Poems & Pints event in Alsager.
This entry was posted in Recent Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer with The Leopard

  1. mfuller810 says:

    Tiger Therapy
    ( Basically a crap poem!
    I’m having a laugh! )

    For lost love and strife, I’ve known in life,
    I’ve tried not to be so sad,
    But thought of my chances, if a tiger glances
    At me, they might be quite bad.

    For depression that sea, that comes over me,
    I think I know the trick;
    I defeat this sadness with the madness
    Of a tiger coming at me quick.

    Of bills and money that aren’t so funny,
    I try to put into true size;
    By thinking of those claws it has on all fours
    After it sees me with glaring.

    Of blood and gore, I know the score
    When such therapy’s my objective.
    But one thing is sure, the mother-in-law
    Puts bloody Tigers into perspective!

    Mike Fuller ( 2004 )

Leave a Comment

