A Hymn To Stoke on Trent

Bo Crowder read from his first collection, Euphony, at The Leopard pub on Tuesday 17th January. It’s published by Offa Press and you can read the title poem here:

Euphony
Arnold Bennett believed Five Towns to be more euphonius than Six

Five hills of home
My Rome
My funny Palatine
To which all roads,
My road at any road,
Lead me to mine
Sound of my past
My gone too fast
My kin my folk
My cake of oat
Lump in my throat
My own
My Stoke

simon-back-cover-image-1

You can find out more about Bo’s first collection and order copies here:

John Williams was on an imaginative flight with his poem about Christmas decorations:

Orange Angels

Creation Week, and the angels swoop down,
a new release of dolls from paradise.
Skilled in soft coverings, in tangerine gowns
they watch us through two tiny toyshop eyes.
You’d think it’s promo day for Knitting Aid,
Fun with Foam and the Pantone colour chart.
I welcome skeins of double yarn, brocade
and sewn-on halo heads. They’d break your heart

with a magic marker mouth, pins and scrap.
A yarn bomb gift, the Word in needlecraft,
their wings are cut from styrofoam and flap,
brushed by glitter and trembling in the draught.
What else is on its way from Sit and Sew
to gather Eden’s bitten fruit, and go?

Join us for the next Poetry Society Stoke Stanza session on Tuesday 7th February at 7.30pm. You don’t have to be a member of the Society, nor even a poet. You can come and listen and discuss poems and short stories written by regulars and newcomers alike. All welcome. If you’re bringing some of your own work to share, please bring 15 photocopies.

Stoke Stanza at The Leopard Hotel, 21 Market Street, Burslem, Stoke on Trent ST6 3AA

Parking is available opposite the pub, both behind and alongside the old Town Hall and in nearby streets.

Leopard poetry logo

About theleopard66

I am a member of the Stoke Stanza of The Poetry Society and run a bi-monthly Poems & Pints event in Alsager.
This entry was posted in Recent Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

